Silences

Silences

(2020)

Silences introduces a collection of photographs made while on a scientific expedition on Greenland’s East coast.

Arctic landscapes have a bareness reminding of the early days of the world, when ice, rock and water settled into an equilibrium before the colonization of life. The cosmogony imagined by JRR Tolkien saw the creation of the world as a musical theme played by celestial beings, each successive piece of music making the world more rich and more precise. To comprehend the Arctic’s barren landscapes requires to open oneself with humility and to become permeated by them. To engage with the elements of the land as an attempt to hear the music of the world.

Walking upon the upper stretch of a massive inland glacier, where none may have trodden in years or decades, makes one feel how much this space exist without being observed and live by itself, without a link with humaneness. Absolutely natural, these vast stretches of land don’t inspire solitude, which implies a withdrawal of humans, but their permanent absence. In his book Arctic Dreams, nature writer Barry Lopez talks about them as profoundly non-human landscapes.

A watcher newly arrived in the Arctic rarely sees animals. The land welcomes him with muteness, like the narwhals we were watching out for but never observed, the invisible bears keeping us on watch at night, or the lone Arctic fox whose stealthiness made us doubt to have even seen it. Absent from reality, they are no less present in the mind in its perception of the land. Inuits, for their part, perceive the land in a non-linear way, as intimately linked to individual and collective memories, like an invisible grid overlaid on the landscape. The Arctic is a real country of the mind (Barry Lopez) where physical world and personal projections are indivisible.

The year this expedition took place, 2016, was the warmest ever recorded. The Arctic, where warming is occuring markedly stronger than elsewhere, is undergoing radical change, most of it silently, away from people’s attention. Reports from scientists, this hard knowledge of the ongoing disaster, fail to raise the alarm. Deafening silence also from the animals disappearing everywhere on the planet, pushed ever more to ever-shrinking fringes. As if, from our noise-cluttered world, we have lost the ability to hear, and to be sensitive to, the music of the world.

Exhibition views — Ex Nihilo gallery, Grenoble
Silences | 2020 | Projects | Comments (0)

Silences

Silences

(2020)

Silences présente une collection de photographies réalisées en marge d’une expédition scientifique sur la côte est du Groenland.

Les milieux arctiques ont ce dénuement qui donne l’impression d’observer les premiers instants du monde, quand glace, roche et eau viennent tout juste de trouver un équilibre avant la grande colonisation par le vivant. La cosmogonie imaginée par Tolkien envisageait la création du monde comme un thème musical joué par les puissances célestes, chaque morceau successif venant enrichir le monde et le préciser. Appréhender les paysages arides de l’arctique demande de s’effacer avec humilité pour se laisser imprégner durablement. Entrer en relation avec les éléments de l’espace pour tenter d’entendre la musique du monde.

Lorsque l’on atteint l’amont d’un immense glacier à l’intérieur des terres, où personne peut ne passer pendant des années, voire des décennies, on ressent à quel point cet espace existe et vit sans être observé, sans lien avec l’humain. Purement naturelles, ces étendues n’inspirent pas la solitude, qui implique le retrait de l’humain, mais leur absence permanente. Des paysages profondément non-humains, pour reprendre une expression de l’écrivain naturaliste Barry Lopez dans Rêves Arctiques.

L’œil fraîchement arrivé dans l’Arctique n’aperçoit que rarement les animaux. Le territoire lui oppose le mutisme réservé au nouveau venu, tels les narvals guettés mais jamais observés, les ours invisibles qui nous gardent de veille la nuit, ou le renard arctique dont la furtivité fait douter de ne l’avoir jamais vu. Absents du réel, ils n’en sont pas moins en permanence présents à l’esprit dans la perception du paysage. Les Inuits, eux, appréhendent le territoire de manière non-linéaire, intimement lié à des histoires individuelles et collectives, comme une trame invisible superposée au paysage. Les territoires arctiques sont de vrais pays de l’esprit (Barry Lopez) où monde physique et projections personnelles sont indissociables.

L’année de cette expédition, 2016, fut la plus chaude jamais enregistrée. L’Arctique, où le réchauffement est bien plus marqué qu’ailleurs, se transforme radicalement, mais dans le plus grand silence, à l’abri des regards. Les rapports des scientifiques, cette connaissance dure de la catastrophe en cours, peinent à alerter. Silence assourdissant également des animaux qui s’éteignent partout sur la terre, toujours plus repoussés sur des marges qui se réduisent. Comme si, de notre monde encombré de bruit, nous avions perdu la faculté d’entendre la musique du monde et d’y être sensible.

Vues d’exposition — Galerie Ex Nihilo, Grenoble

 

Silences | 2020 | Projects | Comments (0)